Borthakurs IAS Academy - Best UPSC Coaching in Guwahati.
Borthakur's IAS Academy

UPSC Course

The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) conducts the Civil Services Examination every year for recruitment to various prestigious positions in the Government ofIndia. The exam pattern for UPSC CSE is quite complicated, and a typical examination cycle lasts for almost a year from the preliminary exam until the final results are declared.

The three stages of the IAS exams are

  • Prelims
  • Mains
  • Personality Test


The Preliminary stage consists of two papers, conducted on one day. Both the papers comprise objective type questions with multiple choice of answers. The prelims examination is a qualifying stage to filter candidates for the mains exam.

UPSC Prelims Syllabus


The Mains stage consists of 9 papers conducted over 5-7 days. Only those candidates who secure at least the declared cut off in General Studies I and 33% in General Studies II in Prelims will be allowed to appear for the Mains Examination.

UPSC Mains Syllabus

As per the exam pattern of UPSC Mains, all of the papers consist of descriptive answer type questions.

Enquire About UPSC Course

Fields marked with (*) are mandatory

* Note: We will get in touch with you soon to book your Demo Class.