How many Exams are there in UPSC?: A Comprehensive Overview

This article provides a thorough description of all of the tests that the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) administers. The number of exams in UPSC encompasses a wide range, including the combined medical services examination, engineering services examination, and many others. This atticle attempts to improve readers’ comprehension of the variety of chances accessible through UPSC tests by offering insights into the various exams offered by the UPSC.

The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) plays a crucial role in conducting approximately 14 different types of examinations, which serve as a gateway for aspirants seeking to join prestigious government services, including the civil services and armed forces.

As the designated recruiting agency, the UPSC is entrusted with the responsibility of administering, organizing, and conducting these examinations in adherence to the Government of India’s rules and regulations.

The UPSC examinations offer opportunities for individuals to secure top-level central government jobs such as the Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Police Service (IPS), Indian Foreign Service (IFS), and many others.

 Among the well-known UPSC exams, the Civil Services Examination, Engineering Services Examination, and Combined Defense Services Examination are widely recognized.

These examinations hold significant importance in shaping the careers of aspiring candidates, providing a platform to showcase their skills, knowledge, and potential to serve the nation. 

Through a rigorous selection process, the UPSC ensures the recruitment of competent individuals who can contribute effectively to the governance, security, and development of the country.

Numbers of exams in UPSC

The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) conducts a diverse range of examinations to recruit candidates for various positions in the government sector. While the exact number of exams may vary over time, as of my knowledge cutoff in September 2021, the UPSC conducts approximately 11 major examinations. These exams include:

1. Civil Services Examination (CSE)

2. Engineering Services Examination (ESE)

3. Combined Medical Services Examination (CMS)

4. National Defence Academy Examination (NDA)

5. Naval Academy Examination (NA)

6. Combined Defense Services Examination (CDS)

7. Indian Forest Service Examination (IFoS)

8. Central Armed Police Forces Examination (CAPF)

9. Combined Geo-Scientist Examination

10. Indian Economic Service Examination (IES)

11. Indian Statistical Service Examination (ISS)

Stages in UPSC exams:

Typically, there are several stages to the UPSC exams, each of which is intended to evaluate a different area of a candidate’s aptitude and ability. The stages included in UPSC tests vary based on the particular exam, but the following phases are typically encountered by students in the Civil Services Examination (CSE), one of the most well-known exams held by the UPSC:

Preliminary Examination (Prelims):

The Prelims stage consists of two objective-type papers, namely General Studies Paper I and General Studies Paper II (CSAT – Civil Services Aptitude Test). This stage serves as a screening test, and the marks obtained in the Prelims are not considered for final merit.

Main Examination (Mains):

The Mains stage is a written examination consisting of nine descriptive papers. The papers include essay writing, general studies, and optional subjects chosen by the candidates. These papers assess the candidate’s knowledge, understanding, analytical ability, and communication skills.

Personality Test (Interview):

The Personality Test, also known as the Interview, is the final stage of the selection process. It involves a face-to-face interview conducted by a board of experts to assess the candidate’s personality traits, leadership qualities, communication skills, and overall suitability for a career in civil services.

The number of stages and components in UPSC exams can vary based on the specific examination. Here are a few examples:

Civil Services Examination (CSE):

The CSE consists of three stages – Preliminary Examination (Prelims), Main Examination (Mains), and Interview (Personality Test).

Indian Forest Service Examination (IFoS):

The IFoS is a two-stage examination comprising the Preliminary Examination (Prelims) and the Main Examination (Mains). It does not include a separate interview stage.

Engineering Services Examination (ESE):

The ESE is a four-stage examination that includes the Preliminary Examination (Prelims), Main Examination (Mains), Interview/Personality Test, and a Medical Examination.


  1. How many stages are there in the Engineering Services Examination in UPSC?
  • The Preliminary Examination (Prelims), Main Examination (Mains), Interview/Personality Test, and a Medical Examination are the four components of the ESE.
  1. What is the number of stages in the UPSC exams?
  • The UPSC exams have a variety of stages, depending on the test. A preliminary examination, a main examination, and a personality test (interview) are frequently included in the stages. Three phases make up the Civil Services Examination, two stages make up the Indian Forest Service Examination, and four stages make up the Engineering Services Examination. However, the precise number and nature of the phases may vary depending on the UPSC test.
  1. Over the years, has the number of tests taken by UPSC changed in any way?
  • Yes, the number of tests taken by the UPSC might vary from year to year. The commission also has the choice to introduce new exams or withdraw those that are currently offered.

Also Read:-

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *